Wednesday, 9 December 2009

The Route

The route covers just under 1000 miles over a 12 day period, mainly on A-roads, but avoiding dual carriageways and busy towns where possible. One of the cyclists (Clive Shackleton) on a previous Discover Adventure trip has kindly provided me with GPS records that I have used for the map to the left. Also if you click the links shown in red you can view either the whole trip here, or individual days below. The trip statistics graph can be removed by clicking the top right 'x'. Thanks Clive!
DAY 1: Lands End to Liskeard on undulating roads
DAY 2: To Sampford Peverell over Dartmoor
DAY 3: Through Somerset over the Severn Bridge to Wye Valley
DAY 4: Undulating country roads via Hereford to Shrewsbury
DAY 5: Flat, fast roads through Cheshire to Preston
DAY 6: Long climb over Shap Fell and through Carlisle
DAY 7: Cross into Scotland at Gretna through lowlands to Kilmarnock
DAY 8: Rolling hills along coast and loch-side cycle to Inverary
DAY 9: Tougher day via highlands through Fort William to Loch Lochy
DAY 10: Cycle via Loch Ness to rolling moorlands and Bonar Bridge
DAY 11: Short tough day through remote hills to north coast
DAY 12: Along north coast to finish at John O’Groats

No comments:

Post a Comment